Happy New Year

 

Well as a not to regular blogger, I would like to wish everybody a Happy New Year and all the best for 2014.

My new year was pretty quiet. It consisted of sitting in my living room with a lukewarm cup of coffee watching the fireworks over Stirling Castle. My son was in his bedroom, my husband fast asleep and the dog curled up at my feet. It was bliss. I lazily moved my computer chair into the middle of the living room floor and admired the view from my window. Fireworks exploding over the castle while listening to Michelle McManus and crew belting out Auld Lang Syne on the tv. Not everybody’s ideal New years eve, but I enjoyed it. Not often I get peace and quiet.

I’m not going to make any resolutions for this new year. Why you may ask? Well like most of us I start of with the best of intentions and they slowly fall by the wayside. So for me, I’m gonna make the most of what I have at this moment in time and enjoy life as it comes along. I am going to try and do some stuff this year but I’m not going to depress myself by promising that I’ll do things then fail.

Some things I hope to do this year –

1 Write on here more often. Even if I all I post is a picture, a memory, a random thought.

2 Continue with my volunteering. I was placed on a mandatory work placement (forced volunteering) as part of the government program for job seekers. I have thoroughly enjoyed it and hope to continue doing a few days per week.

3 Get my teeth fixed – my major drawback from gaining employment is the fact that I have the most awful teeth and a major fear of dentists. I’m fine at interviews and have the skills to work but the minute I open my mouth – BAM! all hope is gone. (this is one I know I really, really have to do)

4 Get a smaller house. Currently stuck in a 4 bedroom flat. This means I have 2 extra bedrooms so have to pay the ‘bedroom tax’. God knows what I’m going to do with all the junk I’ve accumulated over the 14 years I’ve lived here.

5 And of course then the usual good old ones. Eating healthier, get more exercise (the stairs in the volunteer place may help this) and once again stop smoking.

So this is me and this is the 1 January 2014. The list above is my little tasks for the year. No promises that I will complete them but I will try damn hard. I’ll sign of on this in the words of James Dean.

Dream as if you’ll live forever
Live as if you’ll die today!

 

 

About inmylifeandbeyond

40 something Mum of 4 Self confessed WoW geek Avid Reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

