Let’s see who reads this!

Ok I’m not a massive blogger but I tend to write here to remind myself of things or to have a little moan about stuff. I know people do read it because they tend to comment on the link I’ve posted to it on Facebook rather than actually on here. But let’s see who actually does read it.

Well unfortunately I’ve been unemployed for a while and the longer I’m out of work the longer it is taking to get back into it. Employers don’t seem to like gaps in your employment history and the fact that I am getting older and my qualifications are becoming outdated isn’t helping. It’s not often I get to the interview stage of a job application and it does become quite disheartening to apply for job after job and hear nothing back. Well today for the first time in ages I attended a job interview with the local Council. Yes! me at a job interview. I was a wee bit nervous about it (not as nervous as I am going to the dentist but that’s another story) but off I went.  Had everything prepared everything the night before – qualification certificate found, birth certificate found, went to print off a form I was to fill in and take with me – FAIL. My stupid printer refused to work, well it did work but it wasn’t printing properly so this morning it was off to a local shop called Mailbox to print it off. Oh and I even died my very greying hair.

Interview was at noon so I arrived early at 11.45am knowing that I would have to sit and wait. Turned out the interview room wouldn’t be available until my interview time because although they had originally booked it all morning, several people phoned to cancel their interviews. Instead of interviewing me first I was taken into the main office and sat down in front of a computer for a short ‘test’. I think I managed it ok though, although it was a document with numbered sections and for the life of me I couldn’t remember how to do it – 2, 2.1, 2.2. 3. 3.1, 3.2  (and such like). The actual interview seemed to go quite well and I’m hoping I came across well. They said they should have made their decision by the end of the week, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

I’m seriously in need of some good news due to the fact that DWP have decided to sanction (suspend) my job seeker allowance for 4 weeks because I missed a phone call. I may bitch about this in another blog though.

About inmylifeandbeyond

40 something Mum of 4 Self confessed WoW geek Avid Reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

