Bullying, the Bullies and I.

I hope Paul doesn’t mind me reblogging this. It struck a chord with me too. I’ve been there. Looking back I must hold my hand up and say I’ve been both the bully and the one being bullied. I wasn’t a horrible child but for a time in primary school I was quite nasty to a girl who was my friend. I’m not sure if she even remembers it, but I do. I was quite horrible to her and I’ve never apologised for it. Karma got me though when I hit high school – same school as Paul went to funnily enough. I was bullied because I was fat, I wore glasses and I was in the bright kid classes. Not a great combination. I never told anybody and the way it stopped for me was that when one lad kicked me square between the legs (expecting me to cry) I turned and told them if he wanted me to cry he’d have a long wait. Then I’m sure I politely told him to go away. He never bothered me again after that.

Paul McDougall's Blog

Two things happened recently that have made me think about life and more specifically my own life, all 35 years of it. I found out that I am going to be a Father and I watched Ben Smith accept the Helen Rollason award on BBC’s Sports personality of the year for raising awareness of bullying of young people. I can still feel the lump in my throat when I think about it.

One of course was a far more life changing thing to happen than the other but both gave me a glaring reminder into my past.

When I was 4 I moved to Stirling from Glasgow. Not on my own, obviously, but that is another story in itself that I will touch on in my next blog.

I’ve always known and have always thought that I was different, what that ‘different’ is I do not know and have never been…

View original post 1,729 more words

About inmylifeandbeyond

40 something Mum of 4 Self confessed WoW geek Avid Reader
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

